Brianna White

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 30, 2019
unnamed.jpg

The "chunks of data" technology involves may put off many women, but not Loise Mwarangu.

Ushering us to a gazebo in Westlands, she recounts how she landed in data science without ever going to a physical school.

Mwarangu is a data scientist at the Artificial Intelligence Centre for Excellence.

"I first did my university degree to major in economics and statistics, and worked as a data analyst for a short time. It is from there that I gained interest in this field," she says.

After a while, Mwarangu transitioned into more coding because she loved dealing with data.

"It was during the Covid-19 period in 2020 when I started learning data science through online courses, where most of them were free,” she said.

"I could just Google and look for a course that I wanted. At that time, I did not have a permanent job.”

Doing online courses was the trend amid lockdowns, and Mwarangu motivated herself by affirmations and words of encouragement each day.

"When I was doing online classes, my thought was that I really needed to learn AI and machine learning so I can create amazing projects and be the best data analyst that ever existed,” she said.

She did not imagine that her choice at that time would have a big impact on her career life in the future.

"I gained skills that I now use in my job and help me to put food on the table," she said.

"I joined AICE as an intern and that is how I ended up being a data scientist. It has now been a two-year journey and I'm proud of myself."

With three years of experience in data analysis, she decided to advance her studies to gain more skills.

She is currently doing a master's in computational intelligence at the University of Nairobi to advance her skills.