View all topics
Back to CompTIA

CompTIA A+ Has Two Exams: What You Need to Know

  • 2 mths ago

If you want to get into IT, earning the CompTIA A+ certification is an essential step and an industry standard for establishing an IT career. CompTIA A+ covers the skills needed for technical support roles and help desk jobs. This certification is pivotal in supporting today’s ever-evolving technologies in a high-demand field supporting the hybrid workforce.

Unlike other CompTIA certifications, you’ll need to pass two exams to earn CompTIA A+. One question many candidates ask is why there are two exams for this certification. Keep reading to learn more about what the exams cover, why the need for two exams, what to expect and how to study for these exams to benefit your career as an IT professional.

What’s on the Two CompTIA A+ Certification Exams?

In order to earn the CompTIA A+ certification, you must pass two exams. The CompTIA A+ certification exams are 90 minutes each and cover nine separate domains of technical abilities. You can download the exam objectivesreview the study guides, and take practice tests to prepare for the CompTIA A+.

These exams have approximately 90 questions each, including multiple-choice and performance-based questions that focus on the hands-on experience required for certified professionals to:

  • Install and configure end-user devices and software.
  • Execute cybersecurity mitigations.
  • Troubleshoot and resolve standard systems and network issues.
  • Understand scripting, cloud environments and virtualizations.

What Is Covered in the Core 1 Exam?

The Core 220-1101 exam for the CompTIA A+ certification covers specifically five disciplines for IT pros to effectively perform job roles tasked with endpoint and end-user related skills:

  1. Mobile devices: Successfully install and configure mobile devices' components and provide mobile device application support for end users, ensuring stable connectivity.
  2. Networking: Be able to execute connecting endpoints, configure advanced networks, set up office environments, understand common concepts of IP addressing, set up network configurations and use networking tools.
  3. Hardware: Basic understanding of different technology devices to conduct troubleshooting and remediation – both on site and remotely.
  4. Virtualization and Cloud Computing: Comprehend different cloud environments for businesses, virtual and remote desktops, and client-side virtualization. 
  5. Hardware and Network Troubleshooting: Understand how to utilize troubleshooting methodology by finding solutions to hardware and networking issues plus software troubleshooting in a hybrid environment.

What Is Covered in the Core 2 Exam?

The Core 220-1102 exam for the CompTIA A+ certification covers four different areas that IT professionals will be tested on to demonstrate their knowledge and mastery.


  1. Operating Systems: The modern operating system of today's technology is diverse across multiple platforms, and the CompTIA A+ exam covers the need to navigate and troubleshoot between the most used systems.

Continue reading:

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 2 mths agoLast active
  • 2Views
  • 1 Following
Powered by Forumbee


View all topics